I’ll see what I can do

Mr. John Morley has asked for a notice by RLS for the Fortnightly Review, which he is editing, of Lord Lytton’s newly published volume, Fables in Song.

[As usual, dots between square brackets indicate cuts made by Sir Sidney Colvin. For full, correct and critical edition of this letter, see Mehew 2, 271].

To Sidney Colvin [Colvin 1912, pp. 68-69]

Swanston , Lothianburn, Edinburgh [May, 1874].

All right. I’ll see what I can do. Before I could answer I had to see the book; and my good father, after trying at all our libraries, bought it for me. I like the book; that is some of it and I’ll try to lick up four or five pages for the Fortnightly. […]

The Fortnightly Review, edited by J. Morley in London [https://ia600304.us.archive.org/]

Edward Robert Bulwer, Lord Lytton, ‘Fables in Song’, 1874 [https://ia600407.us.archive.org/]

Edward Robert Bulwer, 1st Earl of Lytton (1831–1891), English statesman and poet, Viceroy of India (1876-1880)[http://upload.wikimedia.org/]

It is still as cold as cold, hereaway. And the Spring hammering away at the New Year in despite. Poor Spring, scattering flowers with red hands and preparing for Summer’s triumphs all in a shudder herself.

Health still good, and the humour for work enduring.

Jenkin wrote to say he would second me in such a kind little notelet. I shall go in for it (the Savile I mean) whether Victor Hugo is accepted or not, being now a man of means. Have I told you by the way that I have now an income of £84, or as I prefer to put it for dignity’s sake, two thousand one hundred francs, a year.

In lively hope of better weather and your arrival hereafter, I remain yours ever,

R.L.S.

This entry was posted in Letters, Robert Louis Stevenson and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

