This little book would never have been written

[For correct and critical edition of this letter, see Mehew 2, 526.]

To Alison Cunningham [Simpson 1898, p. 110]

inscription in her copy of An Inland Voyage

[Swanston, May 1878.]

My dear Cummy,

If you had not taken so much trouble with me all the days of my childhood, this little book would never have been written. Many a long night you sat up with me when I was ill. I wish I could hope, by way of return, to amuse a single evening for you with my little book!

Alison Cunningham (1822-1913), ‘Cummy’, RLS’s nurse, by G. Fiddes Watt, 1908 [http://library.sc.edu/]

RLS's probable self-portrait, 1877?

RLS’s probable self-portrait, 1877?

RLS’s ‘An Inland Voyage’, 1st edition, 1878 [http://www.heritagebookshop.com/]

https://i0.wp.com/www.whitmorerarebooks.com/pictures/724_3.jpg

But whatever you may think of it, I know you will continue to think kindly of

The Author

RLS's bedroom at Swanston Cottage

RLS’s bedroom at Swanston Cottage

This entry was posted in Letters, Robert Louis Stevenson and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

