If they liked that so much, I ought to have given them something better

RLS left for Paris on June 7, 1878, and stayed at a hotel, 304 rue Saint-Jacques, ‘coin de la rue Val-de-Grace’.

The following refers to the newspaper criticisms on the Inland Voyage, just then published.

[As usual, for correct and critical edition of this letter, see Mehew 2, 540.]

To his mother [Colvin 1911, 1, 262]

Hôtel du Val de Grâce, Rue St. Jacques, Paris.

Sunday [30 June or 7 July 1878].

My dear mother,

About criticisms, I was more surprised at the tone of the critics than I suppose any one else. And the effect it has produced in me is one of shame. If they liked that so much, I ought to have given them something better, that’s all. And I shall try to do so. Still, it strikes me as odd; and I don’t understand the vogue. It should sell the thing. – Ever your affectionate son,

Robert Louis Stevenson

Immagine

304 rue Saint-Jacques, ‘coin del la rue Val-de-Grace’, Paris

This entry was posted in Letters, Robert Louis Stevenson and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

