I can promise that I will not spare to work

One more letter referring to the candidature of RLS for the Edinburgh History Chair: the chair was being left by Aeneas James George Mackay (1839-1911), Professor of History and Constitutional Law (see older posts).

Charles John Guthrie was an old friend and fellow-member of the Edinburgh Speculative Society, who had passed Advocate six years before, on the same day as RLS himself. After RLS’s death, he became Lord Guthrie, a Senator of the Scottish Courts of Justice, and got Swanston Cottage, sacred to the memory of RLS, for his summer home.

[For correct and critical edition of this letter, see Mehew 3, 818.]

To Charles J. Guthrie [Colvin 1912, p. 151]

Kinnaird Cottage, Pitlochry, June 30 [1881].

My dear Guthrie,

I propose to myself to stand for Mackay’s chair. I can promise that I will not spare to work.

Charles John Guthrie (1849-1920) [http://special.lib.gla.ac.uk/]

Lord Guthrie, c. 1918 [http://images.denhams.com/]

If you can see your way to help me, I shall be glad; and you may at least not mind making my candidature known. – Believe me, yours sincerely,

Robert Louis Stevenson

This entry was posted in Letters, Robert Louis Stevenson and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

