You see, we do some publishing hereaway

In the previous summer, Alexander Hay Japp (1837-1905), Scottish author, journalist and publisher, had paid his visit at Braemar, and listened delightedly to the first chapters of Treasure Island, proposing to offer the story for publication to the editor of Young Folks. The novel was eventually serialised on that magazine, October 1881 to January 1882.

In ‘My first book’ RLS tells how at Braemar Lloyd ‘with the aid of pen and ink and a shilling box of water colours… had… turned one of the rooms into a picture gallery’.

‘The enclosed’ means a packet of the Davos Press woodcuts, carved by RLS for the booklet Moral Emblems and printed at home by his stepson Lloyd.

[As usual, dots between square brackets indicate cuts made by Sidney Colvin. For full, correct and critical edition of this letter, see Mehew 3, 934.]

To Alexander H. Japp [Colvin 1911, 2, p. 89]

[Chalet am Stein, Davos, Late March 1882]

My dear Dr. Japp,

You must think me a forgetful rogue, as indeed I am; for I have but now told my publisher to send you a copy of the Familiar Studies.

RLS, ‘Familiar Studies of Men and Books’, 1st edition, 1882 [https://ia801408.us.archive.org/]

[https://ia801408.us.archive.org/]

[https://ia801408.us.archive.org/]

However, I own I have delayed this letter till I could send you the enclosed. Remembering the nights at Braemar when we visited the Picture Gallery, I hoped they might amuse you.

RLS’s woodcuts for his booklet ‘Moral Emblems’, printed by Lloyd at home in Davos [https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/]

[www.johncoulthart.com/]

[www.johncoulthart.com/]

[www.johncoulthart.com/]

[www.johncoulthart.com/]

[www.johncoulthart.com/]

[www.johncoulthart.com/]

[www.johncoulthart.com/]

[www.johncoulthart.com/]

You see, we do some publishing hereaway. I shall hope to see you in town in May. – Always yours faithfully,

Robert Louis Stevenson

[…]

 

This entry was posted in Letters, Robert Louis Stevenson and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.