A hundred jingling, tingling, golden, minted quid

The agreement, with Cassell’s for Tresure Island outright was signed on 2 June 1883. It provided for the payment of £50 on signature and a further £50 when the book was passed for press. RLS was to receive a royalty of £20 per thousand copies sold after the first four thousand. Royalties continued to be paid until the book went out of copyright in 1944.

[For correct and critical edition of this letter, see Mehew 4, 1098.]

To his parents [Colvin 1911, 2, pp. 132-133]

Chalet la Solitude, May 5 [1883]

My dearest people,

I have had a great piece of news. There has been offered for Treasure Island – how much do you suppose? I believe it would be an excellent jest to keep the answer till my next letter. For two cents I would do so. Shall I? Anyway, I’ll turn the page first. No – well – A hundred pounds, all alive, O! A hundred jingling, tingling, golden, minted quid. Is not this wonderful?

Treasure Island, Cassell’s edition, 1883 [http://p2.la-img.com/]

[http://i.ebayimg.com/]

Add that I have now finished, in draft, the fifteenth chapter of my novel, and have only five before me, and you will see what cause of gratitude I have.

Prince Otto, first American Edition, 1886 [http://pictures.abebooks.com/]

The weather, to look at the per contra sheet, continues vomitable; and Fanny is quite out of sorts. But, really, with such cause of gladness, I have not the heart to be dispirited by anything.

[http://france3-regions.francetvinfo.fr/]

[http://ekladata.com/]

My child’s verse book is finished, dedication and all, and out of my hands – you may tell Cummy;

Dedication of ‘A Child’s Garden of Verses’, first edition, 1885 [https://ia802604.us.archive.org/]

Silverado is done, too, and cast upon the waters;

The Silverado Squatters, Chatto’s & Windus, first edition, 1883 [www.rookebooks.com/]

and this novel so near completion, it does look as if I should support myself without trouble in the future. If I have only health, I can, I thank God. It is dreadful to be a great, big man, and not be able to buy bread.

O that this may last!

I have to-day paid my rent for half the year, till the middle of September, and got my lease: why they have been so long, I know not.

I wish you all sorts of good things.

When is our marriage day? Your loving and ecstatic son,

Treesure Eilan

It has been for me a Treasure Island verily.

This entry was posted in Letters, Robert Louis Stevenson and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

