“I am so well that I am afraid to speak of it, being a coward as to boasting”

[As usual, for correct and critical edition of this letter, see Mehew 5, 1684.]

To Alison Cunningham [Colvin 1911, 2, pp. 348-349]

[Skerryvore, Bournemouth, Late August 1886]

My dear Cummy,

I am home from a long holiday, vastly better in health. My wife not home yet, as she is being cured in some rather boisterous fashion by some Swedish doctors. I hope it may do her good, as the process seems not to be agreeable in itself.

Your cupboard has come, and it is most beautiful: it is certainly worth a lot of money, and is just what we have been looking for in all the shops for quite a while: so your present falls very pat. It is to go in our bedroom I think; but perhaps my wife will think it too much of a good thing to be put so much out of the way, so I shall not put it in its place till her return.

RLS’s pieces of furniture, Vailima, Samoa [https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com]

I am so well that I am afraid to speak of it, being a coward as to boasting. I take walks in the wood daily, and have got back to my work after a long break.

Talbot Woods, Bournemouth, 1909 [www.oldukphotos.com]

[www.oldukphotos.com]

[www.oldukphotos.com]

Talbot Woods, Bournemouth [https://upload.wikimedia.org]

Talbot Woods, Bournemouth [https://upload.wikimedia.org]

 

The story I wrote you about was one you read to me in Cassell’s Family Paper long ago when it came out.

Cassell’s Illustrated Family Paper []https://www.abebooks.co.uk]

It was astonishing how clearly I remembered it all, pictures, characters, and incidents, though the last were a little mixed and I had not the least the hang of the story. It was very pleasant to read it again, and remember old days, and the weekly excursion to Mrs. Hoggs after that precious journal.

John Hoggs was a stationer, 2 Pitts Street, Ednburgh.

 

Dear me, lang syne now! God bless you, dear Cummy. Your afft. boy,

R.L. Stevenson

 

Salva

Salva

This entry was posted in Letters, Robert Louis Stevenson and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

